By using unigrades.uk you agree to the storage of cookies on your device.

Types of UK Degree

There are two main types of degree in the UK, namely:


This type is the most common and usually consists of at least 3 years of study with each year responsible for 120 credits worth of modules. Types of undergraduate degree include:


Examples of Bachelors degrees include:

  • BA (Bachelor of Arts)
  • BSc (Bachelor of Science)
  • BEng (Bachelor of Engineering)
Integrated Masters

This is an enhanced version of a Bachelors which usually consists of at least 4 years of study. Examples include:

  • MEng (Master of Engineering)
  • MComp (Master of Computer Science)
  • MMath (Master of Mathematics)


As the title suggests, this degree is usually embarked upon after graduation from an Undergraduate degree and lasts for at least one year. The different types are included below:

Taught Masters

Consisting of a taught element and a dissertation. Examples include:

  • MSc (Master of Science)
  • MA (Master of Arts)
  • LLM (Master of Law)
Research Masters

Usually consisting of a Thesis to be completed over the course of one or more years. Examples include:

  • MPhil (Master of Philosophy)
  • MSc (Master of Science)
  • MEnt (Master of Enterprise)
Executive Masters

Orientated around business, these degrees are usually completed by persons looking to become executives or high end managers. Examples include:

  • EMPA (Executive Master of Public Administration)
  • EMBA (Executive Master of Business Adinistration)

Grading Systems

The grading system that your course uses will depend on whether your degree is an Undergraduate or Postgraduate.


All undergraduate degrees within the UK are graded using the same boundaries and classifications. Therefore they are as follows:

70%1stFirst Class Honours
60%2:1Second Class Honours (Upper Division)
50%2:2Second Class Honours (Lower Division)
40%3rdThird Class Honours
35%PassOrdinary Degree*

* The award of this degree is down to each independent university's discretion.


Since there are no strict rules on postgraduate degree grades, then each university tends to have different boundaries and classifications. Some common types are:

  • Distinction
  • Merit
  • Pass